Dad's 1935 Diary

finished reading Genghis Khan and started reading Omar Khayyam

Friday 8

The day has come! We got up at 6:00 and caught the Madras Mail going up. I met “Porky” at the station she had been in Khargpur for a week or so. She was very shy when I asked her if she still wrote to Bill Dye. “Ye Judge” met us at the station. He took us boys for some shopping. He had to buy me some ties (3) for the “uncharitable remarks” he made about my red tie when I was here last time! He also bought Gene a camera and six spools of film! After tea we went and saw Wheeler & Woosley at the Elphinstone in “Cockeyed Cavaliers.” It was quite a funny (& mushy) film. Gene took my picture on the roof. We had ice cream for supper. Went for a ride on the Strand. It is a cool place due to the river right next to it. I have decided to give my tie box to Mr. Ellis. I will make another one out of “Peer Saal” wood. I might make it better than the first one!

[Gene’s first camera maybe??  Would love to see those photos!   Looks like the Elphinstone was the first permanent theater (not in a tent) in Calcutta, opening in 1907.  http://www.telegraphindia.com/1090827/jsp/opinion/story_11410877.jsp ]

2-8.jpg Cockeyed Cavaliers LC*3 /2 picture by HazardousOperations

Single Post Navigation

Leave a comment